logo
No further discipline for Darnell Nurse slash on Hintz who injured left leg

No further discipline for Darnell Nurse slash on Hintz who injured left leg

Article content
But DeBoer has a point on Nurse-Hintz in terms of a major, if you go by the NHL rulebook.
It says a major must be assessed on a slash if there's an injury, but refs Jean Hebert an Garrett Rank talked it over after originally calling a major and downgraded it to a minor. Maybe because they weren't sure if the slash caused a stinger (nerve irritation) and Hintz could have returned later in the third.
It's not much ado about nothing if Hintz, say, broke a bone in his foot. That would be a big blow.
But we've seen a lot worse, and some weren't even penalized. Different, angry times, of course, and we got a war of words.
Hospodar rearranged Napier's molars with a wicked butt-end of his stick in the '85 Oiler-Flyers' final, prompting Oiler coach Glen Sather's, bless 'em quote, that, 'if the NHL doesn't do anything for this we're going to get two pine boxes, one for his head and one for his body.' As we laughed at his outrage, Slats followed up with the dandy, 'the ref was out the lunch and Napier won't be having any,' when there was no penalty call as Hospodar strafed Napier's face behind the Flyers' net.

Orange background

Try Our AI Features

Explore what Daily8 AI can do for you:

Comments

No comments yet...

DOWNLOAD THE APP

Get Started Now: Download the App

Ready to dive into the world of global news and events? Download our app today from your preferred app store and start exploring.
app-storeplay-store