logo
#

Latest news with #MCCLawsofCricket

Joe Root left shocked as England handed five-run penalty for rare violation against India
Joe Root left shocked as England handed five-run penalty for rare violation against India

First Post

time8 hours ago

  • Sport
  • First Post

Joe Root left shocked as England handed five-run penalty for rare violation against India

England were penalised five runs during the first Test against India for a little-known rule. The decision left Joe Root shocked as he was involved in the unintentional violation. India finished Day 1 at 359/3 in 85 overs. read more Joe Root looks on after the ball hits the helmet placed on the ground. Image: Reuters In a rare and unexpected moment during the opening Test between England and India at Headingley, England were hit with a five-run penalty, leaving former captain Joe Root stunned. The incident happened during India's first innings on Day 1 of the match. With Yashasvi Jaiswal and new Test skipper Shubman Gill at the crease, India were already in a strong position after a solid opening stand. England had won the toss and elected to bowl first. Jaiswal and KL Rahul forged a brilliant opening partnership before the latter was dismissed by Ben Stokes. STORY CONTINUES BELOW THIS AD England punished for rare violation Then came the bizarre moment. Jaiswal was batting and he smashed a Ben Stokes delivery, which flew towards the slips. The ball deflected off Harry Brook and then touched Root's hand and went straight into a set of helmets lying on the ground behind the wicketkeeper. Even though no run was taken by the batters, umpire Richard Kettleborough immediately signalled a five-run penalty in favour of India. The rule behind this penalty is quite old and is rarely seen being applied during play. According to Law 28 of the MCC Laws of Cricket, if the ball touches a helmet placed on the field, the batting team is awarded five penalty runs. The ball also becomes dead instantly. India vs England, 1st Test - Day 1 India made a strong start to the first Test, finishing Day 1 on a commanding 359/3 in 85 overs. Jaiswal laid the foundation with a fluent 101 off 159 balls and Gill led from the front with an unbeaten 127 off 175 deliveries. Rishabh Pant provided solid support with 65 not out off 102 balls. India will look to build on this strong platform on Day 2. Meanwhile, England will aim to bounce back after a disappointing start. Despite having the advantage of winning the toss and choosing to bowl first, their inexperienced bowling attack struggled to make an impact on the opening day. Stokes was the pick of the bowlers for the home side as he picked up 2 wickets for 43 runs in 13 overs.

GT vs SRH, IPL 2025: Rule Behind Shubman Gill's Heated Debate With Umpires Explained
GT vs SRH, IPL 2025: Rule Behind Shubman Gill's Heated Debate With Umpires Explained

NDTV

time03-05-2025

  • Sport
  • NDTV

GT vs SRH, IPL 2025: Rule Behind Shubman Gill's Heated Debate With Umpires Explained

Gujarat Titans (GT) captain Shubman Gill confronted the on-field umpires after an LBW appeal against SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) batter Abhishek Sharma during their IPL 2025 match on Friday. During the 14th over of SRH's chase, Abhishek was stuck on his boot by a delivery from Prasidh Krishna, and Gill, along with his teammates, appealed for an LBW. While umpire wasn't interested in the appeal, Gill decided to challenge the on-field umpire's call by exercising a DRS review, leading to pure chaos. The TV replays didn't show where the ball had landed; it just showed the impact and wickets. This led to a series of reactions from Gill, who wasn't too pleased with the decision. Gill vented his frustration out on the umpires, chatting animatedly with them, only for Abhishek to step in to calm his chilhood friend down. Was Shubman Gill right to argue with the umpires? As per the rules, three key conditions must be met for an LBW decision: The ball must either pitch in line with the stumps, outside off, or be a full toss (no pitching requirement in this case). The point of impact on the pad must be in line with the stumps or, if outside, the batsman must not be playing a shot. The ball must be projected to hit the stumps. In case of full toss, if the impact is outside the line of the off stump, the batter is not out LBW if they are attempting to play a shot. This is because the MCC Laws of Cricket (Law 36) state that a batsman cannot be out LBW if the impact is outside off while offering a shot, regardless of whether the ball pitched or not Had Abhishek not offered a shot, he would've been adjudged out. Considering the aforementioned conditions, Gill was wrong to argue with the umpires. This wasn't the first instance of Gill getting riled up during the match. In the first innings, Gill charged towards the fourth umpire after his run out.

DOWNLOAD THE APP

Get Started Now: Download the App

Ready to dive into a world of global content with local flavor? Download Daily8 app today from your preferred app store and start exploring.
app-storeplay-store