Latest news with #AimeeMaguire


India.com
4 days ago
- Sport
- India.com
Ireland Spinner Aimee Maguire Cleared To Resume Bowling In International Cricket
The International Cricket Council (ICC) has cleared Ireland spinner Aimee Maguire to resume bowling in international cricket with immediate effect. Maguire was reported for a suspect bowling action during the first ODI of the ICC Women's Championship series against India in Rajkot on January 10, 2025. Following the report, she was suspended from bowling in international matches, keeping in line with the ICC Illegal Bowling Regulations. Since then, Maguire has remodelled her action and subsequently underwent an independent re-assessment at an ICC-accredited testing centre. "The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced that following remedial work and re-assessment, the bowling action of Ireland spinner Aimee Maguire has been found to be legal, and she can resume bowling in international cricket," the ICC said in a statement on August 5. The world governing body of cricket further said that an independent assessment of Maguire's remodelled bowling action at an ICC accredited testing centre concluded that the amount of elbow extension was within the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted under the ICC Illegal Bowling Regulations. As a result, Maguire will be able to resume bowling in international cricket. Maguire made her international debut in 2023 and has 20 caps for Ireland, taking 25 wickets across formats. She is not in the squad for Ireland's three-match T20 series against Pakistan, which begins in Dublin on Wednesday.


BBC News
4 days ago
- Sport
- BBC News
Ireland spinner Maguire cleared to resume bowling
Ireland spinner Aimee Maguire has been cleared to resume bowling in international 18-year-old was suspended in February after the sport's authorities ruled her bowling action to be illegal in Ireland's one-day international against India in Rajkot on 10 then underwent a bowling assessment at the ICC-accredited testing centre at Loughborough, England, on 21 ICC statement said that the bowling assessment found that the "amount of elbow extension in her bowling action exceeds the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted" and handed down a a further statement released on Tuesday, the ICC said that "following remedial work and re-assessment" Maguire's bowling action was "found to be legal", allowing her to resume her international career."An independent assessment of Maguire's remodelled bowling action at an ICC accredited testing centre concluded that the amount of elbow extension was within the 15-degree level," the statement teenager made her international debut in 2023 and has 20 caps for Ireland, taking 25 wickets across captain Gaby Lewis said she has "no doubt" Maguire will "pick up where she left off" when she is reintegrated back into the squad."It's a huge relief for her and management, they worked so hard over the last seven or eight months to work on her action and the mental side of things," said Lewis. "It was a big hit and knock on her confidence, but she has worked so hard and is in a great place now and just needs some games behind her."Maguire is not in the squad for Ireland's three-match T20 series against Pakistan, which begins in Dublin on Wednesday (1600).

Int'l Cricket Council
4 days ago
- Sport
- Int'l Cricket Council
Maguire allowed to resume bowling in international cricket
The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced that following remedial work and re-assessment, the bowling action of Ireland spinner Aimee Maguire has been found to be legal, and she can resume bowling in international cricket. Maguire was suspended from bowling after being reported during the first ODI of the ICC Women's Championship series against India in Rajkot on 10 January this year. An independent assessment of Maguire's remodelled bowling action at an ICC accredited testing centre concluded that the amount of elbow extension was within the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted under the ICC Illegal Bowling Regulations. The media release on Maguire's suspension is available here.

Int'l Cricket Council
4 days ago
- Sport
- Int'l Cricket Council
Maguire cleared to resume bowling in international cricket
The International Cricket Council (ICC) has cleared Ireland spinner Aimee Maguire to resume bowling in international cricket with immediate effect. Maguire was reported for a suspect bowling action during the first ODI of the ICC Women's Championship series against India in Rajkot on 10 January 2025. Following the report, she was suspended from bowling in international matches, keeping in line with the ICC Illegal Bowling Regulations. Since then, Maguire has remodelled her action and subsequently underwent an independent re-assessment at an ICC-accredited testing centre. The assessment concluded that the elbow extension in her bowling action is now within the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted under the ICC Illegal Bowling Regulations. As a result, Maguire will be able to resume bowling in international cricket.

Int'l Cricket Council
06-02-2025
- Sport
- Int'l Cricket Council
Maguire suspended from bowling in international cricket
Ireland's Aimee Maguire has been suspended from bowling in international cricket with immediate effect after an Independent Assessment confirmed that the left-arm spinner uses an illegal bowling action. The 18-year-old was reported by match officials for a suspect bowling action during the first ODI of the ICC Women's Championship series against India in Rajkot on 10 January. She subsequently underwent a bowling assessment at the ICC Accredited testing centre in Loughborough, United Kingdom, on 21 January, where it was revealed that the amount of elbow extension in her bowling action exceeds the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted under the ICC Illegal Bowling Regulations. As a result, in accordance with clause 6.1 of the regulations, Aimee is immediately suspended from bowling in international cricket. Her suspension will remain in effect until she undergoes a re-assessment of her bowling action which confirms that she can bowl with a legal action. ENDS