04-08-2025
Dan Sheehan handed four-match ban for dangerous clear-out on Tom Lynagh that went unpunished
Dan Sheehan, the British and Irish Lions hooker, has been banned for four matches after a dangerous clear-out on Australia fly-half Tom Lynagh that went unpunished by the officials during the third Test.
According to a press release issued on Monday morning by World Rugby, Sheehan did not accept that foul play had occurred nor that the offence warranted a citing.
This extended his eventual ban, though it will be reduced by a week if the 27-year-old completes World Rugby's coaching intervention programme, widely known as 'tackle school'.
Sheehan, who appeared to hit Lynagh in the head with his elbow during the first half of the Lions' 22-12 loss on Saturday, was collared with charging into a ruck or a maul and a panel found his actions to be reckless.
Tom Lynagh flattened by elbow to the head. #AUSvBIL
— Jobson Growthe (@electricBAU) August 2, 2025
The committee also found that he made head contact with Lynagh, who subsequently left the field and did not return, and that Sheehan's actions 'amounted to a high degree of danger and that no mitigation applied'.
There was minimal reaction to the clear-out from any players at the time, with Lynagh even staying on the field long enough to kick a penalty goal, which might have spared Sheehan from greater scrutiny.
Michael Lynagh, the former Wallabies fly-half and father of Tom, has used his X account to repost several questions of how the officials missed Sheehan's actions at the time. One of them derided the situation as 'utterly insane'.
Another, from Jack Quigley, said: 'So, just to be clear: This TMO will stop the game to check literally EVERYTHING except Dan Sheehan's hit that took Lynagh out. What are we doing here.'
Had referee Nika Amushakeli been alerted to Sheehan's actions, it is highly likely that a card would have resulted. Even though 20-minute red cards were in play during the series, allowing teams to replace the offending player after that amount of time, the bunker official would have had scope to send off Sheehan permanently.
Sheehan will now miss Leinster's pre-season game against Cardiff as well as their first two matches of the United Rugby Championship campaign against Stormers and Sharks.
Provided that he completes World Rugby's coaching intervention programme, he will be available to face Munster on October 18.